August 31, 2012 to September 1, 2012

by Kale

August 31, 2012 | 20:54

20:52

August 31, 2012 | 21:16

I haven’t been so scared in the longest time.

The movements of the people aren’t helping me either. I thought I was all well. Then, my mother started sounding scared. And so did the people. And then, they started talking of the worst.

I don’t like this. I really don’t like this. I don’t like this at all.

August 31, 2012 | 21:34

It was like our house was floating on water instead of planted on solid ground.

August 31, 2012 | 22:12

This is undoubtedly developing into a very long night.

It’s only been a little over an hour since it started but I really feel like it’s been much longer than just that.

Service is awful, too. I only barely made the connection to my brother and I could hardly understand him.

When he arrived, my mother rejected his offer to bring us to their sanctuary. I couldn’t agree with that. But I’ve no choice since I can’t rightly leave my mother alone.

She chose to be in the company of strangers instead. And, right now, I would very much like to be in the company of the familiar – familiar people, familiar faces, familiar atmosphere. I don’t want to be with strangers at a time like this.

The moon is shining bright. It’s a full moon tonight. Despite the fact that it gives us higher visibility, I feel like it’s nothing but ominous.

I don’t like this. I really don’t like this. I don’t like this at all.

August 31, 2012 | 22:33

The lights are back.

I hope it means well.

Right now, I see it as a sign that we are no longer in imminent danger. That things have calmed down, if only for a bit. That this long and frightening night is almost over.

I’m hoping, I’m praying for the best.

The air has become warmer, too. I can already take off my warm and cosy Firefox sweatshirt.

Maybe we can almost sleep.

August 31, 2012 | 22:41

My heart is not yet at peace with the rest of my soul. The lights I see as a beacon of greater hope yet my heart throbs as if there is still danger upon us. I am still on alert.

August 31, 2012 | 23:00

CNN says it was 7.6 while ANC says it was 7.7, others say it was 7.9. Whatever the case may be, it was really strong.

And the tsunami warnings has not yet been lifted for the Philippines and Indonesia.

August 31, 2012 | 23:23

Was there really a blue moon tonight? Or… Last night?

The older ones are still talking about it and pointing to it as the reason for the strong quake.

I’m kinda thinking that they’re way off.

August 31, 2012 | 23:37

Casualties: 2 so far. If you don’t count the baby with the first one.

They both fell at that unnecessarily open canal.

The baby’s safe, by the way.

September 1, 2012 | 00:26

The authorities have pronounced it over. That the danger has passed. That it’s not safe for evacuees to go back to their own homes.

Now, we can go to sleep. Sleep and rest. And be ready to wake up to a new tomorrow.

Everything is gonna be alright.

September 1, 2012 | 00:47

The alerts have been lifted. People have walked back to their homes and houses. It should already be good.

Yet the atmosphere doesn’t feel like the people have rested. No one is restful yet. I can still hear the televisions from the neighbourhood telling me that people are still up and remaining vigilant.

Apparently, for the lot of us, the night is yet to be over.

September 1, 2012 | 20:58

The only explanation I can think of for why I want to sleep early tonight instead of doing what I usually do, staying up until 10 pm at the earliest, is that I am still afraid.

Afraid, scared, frightened that what happened last night would happen again tonight.

If that really is the case, I’m not so certain when I’d be able to get over it.

