Something About NaNoWrimo

by Kale

NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month, is this month-long writing event, happening this very month, November, where you get your writing skills tested. Actually, it’s more of a challenge. In the 30 days where the event will run, a participant must be able to write a novel worth at least 50,000 words.

Of course, that sounds mad. But that’s exactly the point of it. It’s supposed to be fun. It’s supposed to let your creative juices run without you having to worry too much about it.

Unlike most writing events, in NaNoWriMo quantity trumps quality – 50,000 words of perfectly flawed prose is better in NaNoWriMo than 30,000 words of long diatribes and flowery prose. Not that long diatribes has a place in well-written novels. Quantity over quality might sound wrong but that’s the way NaNoWriMo works.

A lot of people actually tend to have an internal editor that just seems to want everything perfect in one go. Hence, some people get stuck at some point. So, in NaNoWriMo, you must be able to turn that internal editor off for the duration of the event – give it a vacation or something. Otherwise, there will be less of a chance for you to finish your novel before the clock strikes midnight on November 30th.

I signed up right after reading the post on WordPress news about the event. It sounded like a good challenge and, for someone who is up for challenges, a good challenge always makes for good experience.

I thought of a plot soon enough. However, it was still the first week of October and there was still waiting to do. When the end of the month drew near, I didn’t have much to show for NaNoWriMo.

So, before I started writing, I didn’t have anything much. I thought of going back to the plot that I came up with back in October but I lost the storyline and it didn’t feel like something I could write about anymore.

But now that I started writing, I noticed something. Something that somehow feels rather odd.

I noticed that, once I get started writing, somehow, the story just comes to me. I start typing and I feel like I already know what I should be writing next and what follows after that. I don’t have to think of much anymore, except for names of people, places, and things but that can be dealt with easy.

It makes me feel like I am but transcribing what has already occurred.

Whenever I read a book, I try to picture what is being described and how things are. Like watching a movie. Only, in a movie, you don’t get to decide what things look like.

With this writing, it feels the other way around. (As well it should.) I feel like I am watching something happen in front of me and I am but a scribe recording the things that I am seeing.

Perhaps that’s the thing about it. You just have to sit down and write and everything will just flow smoothly – like water running down a pristine river.

If everything goes on the way they are now, I am certain that I will make the cut.

